Login | Webmail
You are here: Home News-and-Events 2008 News SET Dean Prof. Worsak awarded first Nishino Medal
Document Actions

SET Dean Prof. Worsak awarded first Nishino Medal

Mrs. Fumio Nishino  (Akiyo) presented the Nishino Medal to Prof. Worsak Kanok-Nukulchai,
recipient of the first Nishino Medal at the Opening Ceremony of EASEC-11 Conference
in Taipei, November 19, 2008

AIT’s Dean of the School of Engineering and Technology (SET), Professor Worsak Kanok-Nukulchai, recently was awarded the first Nishino Medal for his internationally recognized contributions in the fields of structural engineering and construction.

The medal was presented  to Prof. Worsak at the opening ceremony of the Eleventh East Asia Pacific Conference on Structural Engineering and Construction (EASEC-11) on November 19 in Taipei, Taiwan. After receiving the award, Dean Worsak gave a presentation for the Nishino Lecture in honor of the late Professor Fumio Nishino.

The announcement of Dean Worsak as winner was made public on November 10 by the Nishino Medal and Prize Award Committee on behalf of the EASEC International Steering Committee.
Professor Fumio Nishino served twice at AIT, once as an Associate Professor (from 1971 to 72) and as a Professor and Vice President for Academic Affairs (from 1984 to 86). He founded the series of EASEC conferences in 1986 while he served as the Vice President for Academic Affairs, to which Professor Worsak served as the Conference Secretary.
Following his retirement, Professor Nishino was extensively involved for over a decade in assisting the development of engineering education in the region. He was instrumental in setting up the APEC Engineering Framework for Mutual Recognition of Professional Engineers. He passed away in May 2007 at the age of seventy-one.

Nishino Medalist, Prof. Worsak Kanok-Nukulchai, and Nishino Prize Awardee,
Mr. Chi-Heng Chiang in photo session with Chair of Award Committee,
Prof. S. Kitipornchai (left) Mrs. Fumio Nishino, Prof. Yozo Fujino Chair of
EASEC International Steering Committee, and Prof. Y.B. Yang,
Chair of the EASEC-11 Organizing Committee after the Awarding Ceremony
in Taipei, November 19, 2008